worldofhost.blogg.se

Tomtom free map updates canada
Tomtom free map updates canada





tomtom free map updates canada
  1. #Tomtom free map updates canada update#
  2. #Tomtom free map updates canada full#
  3. #Tomtom free map updates canada software#

#Tomtom free map updates canada update#

My lifetime update status wasn't registering despite TomTom now having told me twice that it was associated with my account. I plugged in the 1535, got connected and was again given no option to update my maps other than to buy them. So, I hunkered down to finally resolve things. The unit still gave pester messages and now was simply acting strangely. Back to support, which reassured me all was fine. My lifetime map update code for the unit was suddenly showing as invalid. But the pester messages from the device itself to update my maps continued, so I tried again when I had time in September. Eventually, I did get the TomTom 1535 connected, and it told me it was all up-to-date.

tomtom free map updates canada

I also needed to have a separate TomTom account for each one.

#Tomtom free map updates canada software#

As it turned out, the TomTom XL required use of TomTom Home software the TomTom 1535 used a web-based updated. I had trouble getting either unit seen by my Mac or PC laptops. But updating turned into a nightmare that I mentioned briefly in a previous column. Well, why not? Both units came with lifetime maps. All was well with both units until I decided in May that I should heed the reminders that both where giving me, to update my maps. It was joined by a second unit for our other car, a TomTom 1535 Top Gear edition at the end of 2011. The new unit worked fine and had some nice features my older unit didn't have. Buying a new unit was easier than trying to get the old - but perfectly functional - unit still going. Since it was out of warranty, I bought a new unit at the end of 2010, a TomTom XL 340TM. In the end, TomTom finally decided that maybe there was a fault with my 920.

tomtom free map updates canada

#Tomtom free map updates canada full#

Meanwhile, the support forums were full of people having similar problems. The support ticket I opened sent me around and around, chasing solutions that never worked but consumed tons of time to try. Its help pages still thought there were no versions of Windows out past Vista. The worse thing was turning to TomTom for help. It wouldn't connect if I reinstalled any type of software or followed any type of procedure that TomTom suggested. It wouldn't connect with a Windows XP computer I tried. It wouldn't connect with my Windows 7 computer. I tried everything, sporadically, over the course of several months. I was ready to purchase new maps, but as it turned out, there was no way to get them into the device. It worked perfectly fine, but the maps were out-of-date. It was the second TomTom I'd owned, a high-end model. Maybe, just maybe, TomTom might even fix things.īack in 2010, I tried to update my then two-year-old TomTom 920. I'll share some of my pain, and you can nod in agreement. Worse, the company seems not to care about known problems.įor all of you TomTom owners feeling lost out there, come along. Can you actually update your device easily with new maps? When it comes to TomTom, that's a test it has failed for me with three different units, making me want to navigate elsewhere for my GPS needs.







Tomtom free map updates canada